Book to Film: Jane Eyre (2011)

(This is what happens when I start a post then lose internet for a week. Old news, etc. On the other hand, old books are never old news.)

After my daughter was born and my wife went back to work in the evenings, my chief occupation for 4-5 hours, 3 days a week became to keep the baby asleep. I found a level of urgency in that job, as not only was I at a loss as to what to do with an unhappy (or even awake) infant, but also I was working third shift at the time and preferred not to clock in at 11 o’clock p.m. having just been screamed at for a number of hours.

Le bébé would not suffer to be set down to nap. My choices were to listen to the radio (which I did; thank you, WMJR and WEKU!) or to read. Books of board and paper proved too clunky when one arm was occupied by an infant, and she slept so lightly with me that the rustle of the pages woke her. That’s when I remembered Project Gutenberg and the marvel of ebooks. After I finished Homer I moved on to Jane Eyre, entirely inspired not by its place in the canon of English classics, but because of a comic of Kate Beaton’s I had read.

Come to find out last Friday, there’s a new film adaptation coming out this year, and it looks pretty good! I heard the director, Cary Fukunaga, interviewed on Morning Edition. You can read/listen over here, as well as find some clips from the movie. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Books to Film, Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

