QOTD: The Rotation of the Earth Round the Sun

Denial, anger, bargaining, despair–I’m not sure I went through all the stages prescribed by the experts. At some point, though, I arrived at acceptance–of my limits, and, in a way, my mortality. I refocused on my work in the state senate and took satisfaction from the reforms and initiatives that my position afforded. I spent more time at home, and watched my daughters grow, and properly cherished my wife, and thought about my long-term financial obligations. I exercised, and read novels, and came to appreciate how the earth rotated around the sun and the seasons came and went without any particular exertions on my part.

Barack Obama
The Audacity of Hope

This entry was posted in Books, Quotables and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to QOTD: The Rotation of the Earth Round the Sun

  1. Pingback: Decision Points: What Movie Should We Watch? | Tolle, Lege!

Leave a Reply

