Best Inscription to Date

I was complaining to Brian about the lackluster inscriptions authors put in their books. If I ever write something and someone wants it signed, I said, I hope I come up with something better than “Best Wishes.” He reached for a book on the shelf and handed it to me, saying Try this on for size.

If you can’t read it, it’s from Matt Hart’s book of poems Wolf Face. It reads,

Brian,
How weird meeting
this way with my
wolf face all falling
off the boat
and you on the verge of
something extraordinary.
Really, man, it’s
amazing that anything
exists at all. At all.
XO Matt

(That’s more like it.)

This entry was posted in Poetry, Potpourri and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

