Broetry: Poetry for the 21st Century?

Here’s the bit (4 1/2 minutes, just listen to it) on NPR.

In a word: No.

A book subtitled “Poems for Bros” really shouldn’t attract a large crowd. I don’t mean it won’t. I’m sure a lot of people will buy it, even more will claim they read it, and a certain subclass of people will know what you mean when you refer to “broetry” (and you will refer to “broetry”). I’m saying it shouldn’t.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all about opening poetry to a wider audience. I’ve heard there are half as many poetry readers as there are poetry writers, which, by the way, is just crazy, because that just means more poets need to read poetry. And some of the poems read in the NPR bit are funny, some winsome. I do like the WCW tribute on the cover of the book, and the haiku regarding buses:

Why Do Buses Smell?

The young girl asks her
mother. I listen, because
I want to know, too.

In the end, of course, I just found myself thinking of a Kate Beaton comic:

(via harkavagrant.com)

Deep stuff.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

