QOTD: Bibliophilia and Our Sinking Funds

“He has no secret vices, but he is totally abandoned in the way he buys book after book, never to read a single one. I wouldn’t mind if he used his head and bought in moderation, but no. Whenever the mood takes him, he ambles off to the biggest bookshop in the city and brings back home as many books as chance to catch his fancy. Then, at the end of the month, he adopts an attitude of complete detachment. At the end of last year, for instance, I had a terrible time coping with the bill that had been accumulating month after month.”

from I Am a Cat by Soseki Natsume

One of my wife’s most common threats is to get rid of my books, or at least several of them. She laughs (laughs!) at me every time I come home with more. I have not put the family at risk, however, probably in part because she’s the one who takes care of the budget.

This entry was posted in Bibliophilia, Fiction, Japan, Quotables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

