War and Peace Progress Report

I am on page 803 or so in Leo Tolstoy’s War and Peace. I still have 500+ pages left to read. This is a very long book! In case anyone was unclear.

Aside | This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to War and Peace Progress Report

  1. Keep going!! It’s such a rewarding feeling when you finish it! How are you enjoying it?

    • Joel says:

      I had a friend in college who had read all but the last 150 pages of W&P and then, for no apparent reason, just stopped. When I met him he had been kicking himself for 2-3 years. I can’t let myself become that guy!

      I love the book thus far. I’d heard it’s tough keeping track of the various characters’ storylines, not to mention all their names, throughout the long time span of the novel. But Tolstoy’s storytelling has carried me along so effortlessly, I’ve had very little trouble at all. I’m eager to be done not because it’s a burden I’m ready to be freed from, but rather because it’s so good I want to have ingested all of it. Thanks for the support!

  2. Jillian ♣ says:

    Nice job! I’m reading War & Peace as well right now. I’m halfway through it. 🙂

    • Joel says:

      Thanks!

      Is it me? Or is there a certain feeling of conquest reading a very large book? It doesn’t matter how much we read or how often–and it’s not a particularly difficult read; it’s an engaging story, fascinating time period, etc. But the satisfaction of having put your eyes to that many pages is distinct from that of finishing a good story.

Leave a Reply

