Christmas Book Update: Thank You, Meredith!

Nothing ventured, nothing gained, as the saying goes.

A little over a week ago I posted a quick roundup of books I’d gotten for Christmas. I closed with a reminder that I do not say “No” to books given to me, and provided a link to my Amazon wishlist. One reader responded in an extremely welcome fashion. The sweet and lovely Meredith wrote,

Joel
Read your blog post. Decided to take you up on your offer. Given my literary inclinations, this seemed an ideal choice. Enjoy!
God Bless!
Meredith

The book enclosed was Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn’s The First Circle. I’m very excited to read this, especially because finally I have the uncensored version of the novel. For a while I’ve planned this to be my next large Russian undertaking, though after War and Peace I’ll likely read something shorter, like Dostoyevsky’s Notes From Underground.

I’m ecstatic, folks. Thank you, Meredith!

This entry was posted in Books, Literary World Tour and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment